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RSM Ad Manager FAQ

Display Ad Buying FAQs

Where will my display ads appear?

Deliver impactful brand messaging with display adverting that runs across the Rogers Sports & Media network of owned and partner sites.

Every month, 26 million unique visitors engage with our content! This scale enables advertisers to drive awareness and impact with both local and national audiences.

Depending on the placement you choose, your ads may appear on web and mobile sites such as Sportsnet, NHL, Citytv, Cityline, Citynews, Breakfast Television, KiSS 92.5, CHFI 98.1, Citynews radio sites, Rock radio sites, SONIC radio sites, JACK radio sites, People Magazine, AllRecipes, Entertainment Weekly, GQ, Vanity Fair, bon appetit and many more.

Our premium content ensures a brand-safe environment for your advertising.

How much should I spend on my display campaign?

Ultimately, your budget depends on how many people you want to reach. Here are some guidelines:

  • For campaigns geo-targeted to 1 - 3 cities: consider a budget starting at $750 and a 4-week campaign

  • For campaigns geo-targeted to 4+ cities: consider a budget starting at $1,500 and a 4-week campaign

Your budget and CPM (cost per 1000 impressions) determines the number of impressions your ads receive. Some important things to know:

For example, if your budget is $1,000 and the ad CPM is $16, your ads will appear approximately 62,500 times over the course of your campaign

  • This does not mean that your ad will reach 62,500 people -- some people may see your ad more than once. Repeated exposure will help to drive campaign results

  • If you want to capture more ad impressions and reach more people think about increasing your budget (you may also need to increase the length of your campaign)

How do I get my display ads in front of the right people?

Select our Network Placement to:

  • Run your ad across our full network of premium owned and partner sites

  • Use Lifestyle/Interest Targeting to reach people with specific interests or lifestyle types

  • Use Location Targeting to ensure your ad appears in specific towns, cities or provinces/territories relevant to your business

What ad creative do I need for a display campaign?

When setting up your campaign our “Build Your Creative” option enables you to easily create a set of display ads. Simply upload your logo, an image and specify your message.

Already have display ads? Upload them into your campaign and we’ll ensure they meet our specifications.

Either way, we recommend including a variety of ad sizes to maximize the reach of your campaign.

How do I build a set of display ads in RSM Ad Manager?

Don’t have a Display Ad creative? Don’t worry! Choose the “Build Your Creative” option to quickly and easily build a set of banner ads.

You’ll be guided through the following steps:

  1. Upload your logo

  2. Upload a main image. This image should capture attention and support your offer or messaging

  3. Specify the Destination URL. This is the page on your website you want to people to land on when they click on your ad

  4. Select a Call To Action. Appearing as a button on your ad, select a CTA that best aligns with the action you want people to take

  5. Enter a Headline. Reinforce the name of your business or make a bold statement!

  6. Enter a Message. This is where you can provide details on your product, service or offer. Keep it short, snappy and quick to read!

 You can preview and edit your ad in the right panel as you build it. Scroll down to see all sizes. If you don’t want to include a certain creative size in your campaign, toggle the “Use” status to “off”.

What makes an effective display ad?

Sizes: for Display Ad campaigns, include multiple sizes – specifically a 300x250 and 300x50. The more sizes you provide the more websites and devices your ad may appear on.

Your Logo: Make sure your creative always includes your logo, featured prominently, for immediate recognition.

Headlines: Keep headlines short and to the point. Reinforce the name of your business or make a bold statement!

Message: Feature a couple of short, snappy sentences that clearly communicates what you are promoting. This could be a special offer or a unique selling feature of your product or service.

Image: Include a good quality image that captures attention and compliments your offering or messaging.

Call-To-Action Button: Feature a CTA that best aligns with the action you want people to take. For Example: Shop Now, Learn More or Book Now.

What updates can I make to my display ads once my campaign is live?

You can manage your ad creative by logging into your Campaign and clicking on the “Creatives” tab. Once your campaign is live you can:

  • Add new ad creative / sizes

  • Pause any ads that are running

  • Resume any paused ads

If you used our “Build Your Creative” option, you will not be able to edit ads once they are live. Simply add new ads and pause the original ones.

When pausing ads, remember that you have to have at least one ad live for your campaign to run.

Podcast & Streaming Radio Ad Buying FAQs

Where will my audio ads run?

Reach our engaged audiences as they listen to premium podcast and streaming radio content.

Every month, our digital audio content reaches 8 million Canadians. This scale enables advertisers to drive awareness and impact with both local and national audiences.

Depending on the placement you choose, your :30 audio ad may run within:

  • Streaming news, entertainment and music content from our 50+ market-leading radio stations

  • Award winning news and lifestyle podcast content such as The Big Story, Teach Me How to Adult, and Island Crime

  • Some of the top sports podcasts in Canada including 32 Thoughts and The Raptors Show with Will Lou

  • Exclusive access to partner podcasts from around the world including Dateline NBC, Conan O’Brien Needs a Friend, Hidden Brain and many more

Our premium content ensures a brand-safe environment for your advertising and listen-through rates of 95%.

How do I get my audio ads to the right people?

Select our Complete Network Placement to:

  • Run your ad across our full network of podcast and streaming radio content

  • Use Lifestyle/Interest Targeting to reach people with specific interests or lifestyle types

  • Use Location Targeting to ensure your ad appears in specific towns, cities or provinces/territories relevant to your business

Select one of our Channel Placements to:

  • Run your ad across a selection of podcast and streaming radio content

  • Our Channels feature contextually relevant content and audiences. For example, our Women’s Channel includes podcasts and streaming radio content that primarily engages a female audience 

  • Use Location Targeting to ensure your ad appears in specific towns, cities or provinces/territories relevant to your business

How much should I spend on my podcast & streaming radio campaign?

Ultimately, your budget depends on how many people you want to reach. Here are some guidelines:

  • For campaigns geo-targeted to 1 - 3 cities: consider a budget starting at $1,000 and a 4-week campaign

  • For campaigns geo-targeted to 4+ cities: consider a budget starting at $2,000 and a 4-week campaign

Campaigns of $2,000 or more (before taxes) qualify to have a 30-second audio ad produced by Rogers Sports & Media at no extra cost.

Your budget and CPM (cost per 1000 impressions) determines the number of impressions your ads receive. Some important things to know:

For example, if your budget is $1,000 and the ad CPM is $22, your ads will appear approximately 45,454 times over the course of your campaign

  • This does not mean that your ad will reach 45,454 people -- some people may see your ad more than once. Repeated exposure will help to drive campaign results

  • If you want to capture more ad impressions and reach more people think about increasing your budget (you may also need to increase the length of your campaign)

What audio ad creative do I need?

To run a podcast & streaming radio campaign you’ll need a 30-second audio ad.

Campaigns of $2,000 or more (before taxes) qualify to have a 30-second audio ad produced by Rogers Sports & Media at no extra cost.

If your budget does not meet this minimum, we will provide details on how to have your ad produced for a moderate fee.

You can also use an existing 30-second radio ad. After booking your campaign, you can upload your audio ad for us to review and approve.

Radio Ad Buying FAQs

Where will my radio ad run?

Rogers Sports & Media has 50+ local radio stations across the country! You can find a complete list of our radio stations here.

Every month, we reach 59% of Canadians with some of the most listened to sports, news and music programming in Canada.

Your radio ad will run on the stations you select when building your radio campaign – drive top-of-mind awareness for your business in the markets that matter to you most. For example, if you want to run a radio campaign in Calgary, you will select from our JACK 96.9, Sportsnet 960, CityNews 660 and STAR 95 stations.

What radio ad creative do I need?

On RSM Ad Manager, you can choose to run a :15 or :30 radio ad.

While building your campaign we will confirm if your budget qualifies you to have your radio ad produced by us for no additional cost. If your budget does not meet this minimum, we will provide details on how to have your ad produced for a moderate fee.

You can also use an existing 15-second or 30-second radio ad. After booking your campaign, you can upload your radio ad for us to review and approve.

How much should I spend on my radio ad campaign?

For your radio campaign to be effective, we require you to book a minimum of 20 radio spots per week per radio station.

For campaigns under 3 weeks, we recommend booking 30-50 radio spots per week per station.

Streaming TV & Video Ad Buying FAQs

Where will my video ads appear?

Reach audiences engaged in the best streaming and video content in Canada when you run a video campaign with Rogers Sports & Media.

Every month, we reach 8 million Canadians with our streaming TV & video content. This scale enables advertisers to drive awareness and impact with both local and national audiences.

Depending on the placement you choose, your video ads may appear on:

  • Premium streaming TV content from Sportsnet, Citytv, Cityline, Citynews, Breakfast Television and more

  • Action-packed NHL, MLB and NBA live sports programming on SportsnetNOW

  • Popular entertainment content from TUBI. One of the fastest growing ad-supported streaming services

Advertisers can enjoy video ad completion rates of 97% and our premium content ensures a brand-safe environment for your advertising.

What ad creative do I need for a video campaign?

You need a video ad that is 30-seconds or less. Simply upload your ad into your campaign and we’ll ensure it meets our specifications.

The length of your video ad needs to match the ad product you select – either 10-30 seconds OR Under 10 seconds.

How much should I spend on my video campaign?

Ultimately, your budget depends on how many people you want to reach. Here are some guidelines:

  • For campaigns geo-targeted to 1 - 3 cities: consider a budget starting at $750 and a 4-week campaign

  • For campaigns geo-targeted to 4+ cities: consider a budget starting at $1,500 and a 4-week campaign

Your budget and CPM (cost per 1000 impressions) determines the number of impressions your[PA1]  ads receive. Some important things to know:

For example, if your budget is $1,000 and the ad CPM is $16, your ads will appear approximately 62,500 times over the course of your campaign

  • This does not mean that your ad will reach 62,500 people -- some people may see your ad more than once. Repeated exposure will help to drive campaign results

  • If you want to capture more ad impressions and reach more people think about increasing your budget (you may also need to increase the length of your campaign)

How do I get my video ads in front of the right people?

Select our Network Placement to:

  • Run your ad across our full network of premium owned and partner sites

  • Use Lifestyle/Interest Targeting to reach people with specific interests or lifestyle types

  • Use Location Targeting to ensure your ad appears in specific towns, cities or provinces/territories relevant to your business

Select a Channel Placement to:

  • Run your ad across a selection of our premium owned and partner sites

  • Our Channels feature contextually relevant content and audiences. For example, our Women’s Channel includes websites featuring content that primarily engages a female audience 

  • Use Location Targeting to ensure your ad appears in specific towns, cities or provinces/territories relevant to your business

About us

What is Rogers Sports & Media Ad Manager?

Rogers Sports & Media Ad Manager gives you the power to grow your business by partnering with Canada’s top news, entertainment and sports brands.

What can you expect when you advertise with Rogers Sports & Media?
  • You will reach highly engaged users to effectively build brand awareness, encourage online engagement or boost in-store traffic

  • You can take advantage of our scale and location targeting capabilities to drive impact in your local market

  • You will earn trust by appearing alongside our premium content that entertains and informs Canadians (your customers!)

What brands and websites can I advertise on?

Our Owned & Operated and Premium Partner Network is a fraud-free and brand-safe environment that reaches over 26 million Canadians every month.

Our trusted stable of media brands include Citytv, CityNews, KiSS, Breakfast Television, CHFI, CHEZ, Cityline, Sportsnet, SportnsetNOW, OMNI, FX Frequency Podcast Network and more.  

We also have exclusive partnerships with power house brands such as TUBI, NHL, MLB, AllRecipes, People Magazine, Elle Canada, Elle Quebec, Vogue, GQ and more.

What type of campaigns are available?

On Rogers Sports & Media Ad Manager you can reach highly engaged users to effectively build brand awareness, encourage online engagement or boost in-store traffic with CPM-based campaigns. 

CPM-based buying allows advertisers to pay based on the price per 1000 impressions (mille) and supports your goal of reaching as many customers as possible and increasing brand awareness.

How much does advertising on Rogers Sports & Media Ad Manager cost?

Your CPM (Price Per 1000 Impressions) is based on the type of product, placement and targeting options you select when setting up your campaign.

Campaigns

What is a campaign?

Using Rogers Sports & Media Ad Manager, your ad campaign will appear across our network of premium websites and across desktop, tablet, mobile devices and – in the case of video ads – Connected TV.  

Select our Complete Network Placement to:

  • Run your ad across our complete network of premium owned and partner websites

  • Narrow who will see your ad with audience, age, and gender targeting 

Select a Channel Placement to:

  • Run your ad across a selection of our premium owned and partner sites

  • Our Channels feature contextually relevant content and audiences

  • For example, our Women’s Channel includes websites featuring content that primarily engages a female audience

Use Location Targeting to ensure your ad appears in specific towns, cities or provinces/territories relevant to your business. This is available for both Complete Network and Channel Placements.

How will my Campaign look?

When creating your campaign, you will add one or more creatives. A Creative is the display or video ad that will appear across our network to people within your target audience. 

For Display Ad Campaigns, we recommend always including 300x250 and 300x50 sizes. The more sizes you provide the more websites and devices your ad may appear on.

For Video Ad Campaigns, you can run a 10-30 second or Under 10 second Video Ad. All our Video Ads run as non-skippable pre-roll or mid-roll within our video content.

You can upload a Creative you have ready or, in the case of Display Ads, create one in a few easy steps using our Creative Builder.

Learn more in the Creatives section.

How do I pay for the Campaign?

When you have finished creating your Campaign, you will be taken to the Checkout. From here you can choose to pay for the Campaign, or add more Campaigns. The Platform supports CAD payments via credit card through our secure payment provider, and accepts many major credit card brands. If your Campaign delivers an impression amount lower than what you budgeted for, the platform will automatically refund the amount that was not delivered to your credit card after the Campaign has ended. Read more in Billing.

How do I reach my Campaign after it is submitted?

After paying for your Campaign(s), the Campaign(s) will be organized under one Order. Use the Orders page to print a receipt for each transaction. You can also reach all Campaigns in the left hand side menu under Campaigns.

What determines the price of my Campaigns?

The product selector/products you select will determine the price per impression for your campaign. The Product selector is where you pick the attributes to be added to your Campaign (i.e targeting options, placements, etc).

After selecting a Product, you will input your ideal budget for the Campaign. Based on your selected Product, the Platform will calculate the amount of impressions you will get for your budget amount. The price used for the calculation is displayed in CPM (cost-per-thousand impressions). Each product has its own CPM, so the price will vary based on your choices.

If you’ve selected our Network Placement with audience targeting, you’ll see an increase in the CPM if lifestyle/interest and/or gender targeting is selected.

How can I track the campaign progress?

You can check the status of your campaign to make sure impressions are delivering by choosing a specific campaign and looking through the tabs Creatives and Performance section. You can also edit your campaign in this section and view the final statistics of your campaign in the reports section.

Targeting Options

How do Targeting options work?

Targeting allows you to further narrow the specific people your ad will appear to across our network. When using Lifestyle/Interest or Age targeting your CPM will increase. Your CPM will not increase if you use Gender targeting.

It is important to make sure your targeting options are not too narrow so that your campaign can reach as many visitors as possible. 

To help with the reach of your campaign we recommend not using Age or Gender targeting if Lifestyle/Interest targeting has been selected, and vice versa.

How can I target audiences by lifestyle / interest?

When you book a digital audio, display or video campaign that runs across our Complete Network you can target one of our predefined lifestyle/interest audiences.

Our 16 predefined lifestyle/interest audiences are based on Rogers verified first- and third-party data signals including demographic, lifestyle, behavioural and media consumption.​

Learn more about each audience below.

Auto Enthusiasts
Auto Enthusiasts are passionate about their vehicles. They enjoy spending time outdoors with family and often have recreational vehicles to compliment their lifestyle.

Fashion & Beauty
The Fashion & Beauty audience are the trendsetters and influencers of their social circles. They are diverse in age and income and are always on the lookout for the next big brands and styles.

Fitness & Wellness
Fitness enthusiasts and wellness seekers are interested in maintaining a healthy lifestyle. They have an optimistic outlook and actively seek tips and information to improve their physical and mental well-being.

Food Lovers
The Food Lover is a diverse audience that can be found dining across the country. Good food and warm atmosphere are important but what matters most is sharing the dining exprience with family and friends.

Home Decor Lovers
Home Decor Lovers are passionate about transforming their living spaces into personalized, stylish sanctuaries. They aim to create unique and comfortable home environments that reflect their personal taste.

Homeowners
Homeowners are a family-first audience that come from diverse backgrounds, lifestyles and income levels. They prioritize their free time and take pride in their homes.

Newcomers
Newcomers come from diverse backgrounds, cultures and languages. They are learning about Canadian culture and regularly explore their surroundings as they establish roots in their new communities.

Mass Affluent
The Mass Affluent audience comprises of high net-worth individuals with investable assets. They are interested in luxury goods, travel and experiences as well as financial planning, retirement and philanthropy.

Luxury Shopper
The Luxury Shopper audience comprises of high net-worth individuals with disposable income. They are interested in luxury goods, travel and experiences as well as financial planning, retirement and philanthropy.

Millennials
Millennials are technology-savvy, socially conscious and interested in trends related to lifestyle, entertainment and culture. They can often be found enjoying dining out, attending live sports events or at bars and nightclubs.

Move & TV Buffs
Movie & TV Buffs are interested in the latest entertainment news, reviews and content. This audience often consumes media via streaming services, but also values the opportunity to get out and try something new.

Parents
Parents value a wide range of family-friendly content relating to health, entertainment, travel and education. They spend lots of time socializing online and in person and advertising frequently drives their decision making.

Pet Owners
Pet Owners are passionate about their animals and value content relating to the care, nutrition and training of their pets. They are often homeowners and nature lovers and prioritize spending recreational time outdoors.

Small Medium Business
The SMB audience own and operate businesses with fewer than 500 employees. They seek a wide range of content that includes finance, fashion, sports and news and are active members of their local communities.

Sports Fans
Canadian Sports Fans are passionate about a variety of sports, including hockey, baseball, basketball and soccer. Sports are a family event and fans stay up-to-date with the latest news and scores.

Tech Enthusiasts
Tech Enthusiasts are passionate about the latest trends and innovations in tech including gaming, software development and AI. They prefer to shop online and believe that tech is the best tool for efficiency.

Travel Buffs
Travel Buffs love to explore new destinations, cultures and experiences. This optimistic audience seeks information and inspiration to plan for their next big adventure.

Creatives

What are Creatives?

When creating your campaign, you will add one or more creatives.

A Creative is the image or video that will be shown to the visitors you target. You can either upload a completed creative from your hard drive (like a JPG image), or create one from scratch through our easy-to-use Creative Builder.

What type of Creatives can I submit?

For Display Banner Ads, you can either upload a completed Creative (JPG, PNG) from your computer or from your creative library (where previously used creatives are saved), or build a Creative from scratch using our easy-to-use Creative Builder. Advanced users can also upload a third party script. 

All submitted Creatives need to be approved by our team before the Campaign goes live. You will be notified by email if your creative is approved or rejected. You will have the option to submit new Creatives if you are not satisfied with the ones you originally submitted for your campaign.

Read more about what to consider when selecting or building your creatives in the Best Practices Section below.

What is the Build Your Creative option?

Don’t have a Display Ad creative? Don’t worry! Choose this option to quickly and easily build your Display Ad Banner directly in RSM Ad Manager.

You’ll be guided through the following steps:

  1. Upload your logo

  2. Upload a main image. This image should capture attention and support your offer or messaging

  3. Specify the Destination URL. This is the page on your website you want to people to land on when they click on your ad

  4. Select a Call To Action. Appearing as a button on your ad, select a CTA that best aligns with the action you want people to take

  5. Enter a Headline. Reinforce the name of your business or make a bold statement!

  6. Enter a Message. This is where you can provide details on your product, service or offer. Keep it short, snappy and quick to read!

You can preview and edit your Creative in the right panel as you build it. Scroll down to see all sizes. If you don’t want to include a certain creative size in your campaign, toggle the Use status to off.

How can I submit new creatives?

Creatives can be submitted during the Campaign creation flow or added later. If you have unpaid Campaigns, you can edit them and add more Creatives. If you already paid for your Campaign, you can go to the Creative section again and add more Creatives.

How long does it take for the RSM Ad Manager team to approve my creative?

Creatives will be approved or rejected by the RSM Ad Manager team within 1 business day.

How do I manage Creatives on a live Campaign?

You cannot edit an approved Creative on a running Campaign, but you can add new ones. This is a great choice if you’d like to A/B test your creatives and optimize whichever one seems to capture more clicks.

You can pause or resume the creative you are using for the campaign at any time, but must have at least one active creative per campaign available.

You can manage the creatives on a campaign by clicking the creative section under a Campaign, and pressing the edit button.

How does creative approval work?

When adding new creatives you will see the status DRAFT or UNDER REVIEW.

When your creative is under review, checking to see that your ad is following our Creative Guidelines. We will either APPROVE or REJECT your creative within 1 business day.

If there are any issues with your creatives we will let you know ASAP.

Link to our Creative Guidelines Here

Can I change creatives on a running campaign?

Yes, you can change and add new creatives at any time.  This is a great choice if you’d like to A/B test your creatives and optimize whichever one seems to capture more clicks. 

What do the different creative statuses mean?

In the campaigns section, you can see the status of all of your uploaded creatives. These statuses include:

  • NO CREATIVE: No creatives were submitted for this Campaign. The Campaign will not deliver until a Creative is submitted and approved

  • UNDER REVIEW: A Creative has been submitted, but is waiting to be approved by the RSM Ad Manager team

  • APPROVED: The creative was approved by the Publisher

  • ACTIVE: At least one Creative was submitted and approved, the Campaign is ready to deliver

  • INACTIVE: The Creatives have been paused

  • REJECTED: The Creative(s) was rejected and the Campaign cannot deliver

  • EXPIRED: The Campaign passed the End date before the Creative was approved

In Process Campaigns

How do I stop a Campaign from delivering?

To stop a Campaign from delivering, pause it on the Campaign's page. The Campaign will stop delivering impressions until it is un-paused.

How do I edit submitted Campaigns?

Campaigns that have been submitted and paid for can be edited from the Campaigns page. Certain options are no longer available for editing compared to when you initially created your Campaign, such as the campaign budget and dates. In order to edit your budget or campaign dates, you can pause your delivering Campaign, copy it and submit a new Campaign with new dates.

Why is my Campaign no longer delivering impressions?
  1. Your Campaign may no longer be delivering because it has passed the selected end date for your Campaign. In order to continue the Campaign to deliver more impressions, you will need to create a new Campaign. 

  2. A Campaign might not be delivering is if you have no active creatives. You can view all of your submitted creatives in the Campaigns page. Make sure at least one creative is active for the Campaign to deliver.

If you are still having issues, please contact the support team directly. The contact form is available through the Support button in the dropdown menu in the top right corner.

What do the different Campaign statuses mean?

To view the status of your campaign, go to the campaigns page. Various statuses are available based on your campaign progress, these include the following:

  • Draft: The Campaign has been submitted and is currently being created in the internal system. This process can take up to 30 minutes after its been submitted

  • Inactive: There are no approved creatives added to the campaign

  • Live (Ready): At least one creative has been approved and the campaign is ready to go live at the set start date

  • Live (Delivering): The campaign is currently delivering impressions

  • Completed: The campaign has fulfilled the budget and is no longer delivering impressions

  • Cancelled: The campaign has been cancelled and will no longer deliver impressions

  • Paused: The campaign has been paused and is no longer delivering impressions. The campaign must be resumed in order to deliver impressions

  • Pending: The campaign has been set up and paid for but is missing creatives

Can I change my budget?

You can change your budget on Draft campaigns.

Once you have paid you cannot change the budget and your campaign will run until the end date, or until you decide to cancel the campaign. You can of course cancel any of you campaigns at any time.

You can set up a campaign with budget per day and open end date, in which case the campaign will run until the goal is reached or until you cancel.

Reporting

How do I find out how my Campaigns are performing?

You can view various reports on the success of your campaign by selecting different header options at the top of the reporting tab. The Dashboard in each campaign presents real time data about the performance of your Campaigns. The Campaigns page will present a list of all your Campaigns and their performance. 

The Reports section also allows you to create and download a report containing all performance related numbers from your campaign. To create a new report select New Report under the Reports Tab and select the specific details of your report. Additionally, you can activate automated scheduled reports that will be sent to your email.

Which reporting metrics are available?

The following metrics are available in the exported Reports in the Report section. Note that some metrics may be filtered on a certain date range, depending on the settings you select when creating the report. The metrics listed in reports include:

  • Booked impressions: The amount of impressions that were included in your budget when you created your campaign

  • Budget: The budget you set when creating your campaign

  • Delivered impressions: The amount of times your ads appeared on someone’s screen within our network, during the filtered period. If your objective in running a campaign on our network is to reach highly engaged users, effectively build brand awareness, encourage online engagement and/or boost in-store traffic, this metric is your key measure of success

  • CTR: The “click-through-rate” is the number of clicks received, divided by the number of delivered user impressions. The CTR is presented in percentages. Please note that our campaigns do not optimize to clicks, but optimize to delivering the largest possible scale / visibility for your ads

  • Spend: The total amount of the campaign budget spent based on the delivered impressions

How should I use the Dashboard?

When you first log into RSM Ad Manager you’ll see your Dashboard showing total statistics across all of your campaigns. 

You can adjust the dates if there is a specific time period you wish to look at.

There are three statistics you can see in chart form:

  • Total Impressions: How many times your ads appeared on someone’s screen within our network

  • Total Clicks: How many times someone clicked on your ads

  • Total Amount ($): Total amount of spent

Click on any of these options on the left side to display within the chart.

Move your mouse over the chart to see statistics by day.

How should I use the reports?

Once your campaign is live, you can monitor performance and view metrics at any time through Excel reports. To create your report, select New Report under the Reports Tab and then select the specific details of your report: 

Order vs. Campaign Report 

You can run reports at the Campaign level or Order level (if you have multiple Campaigns in a single Order).

One-Time Report

  • Use this option if you need to run a one-time report (e.g. at the end of your campaign). 

  • Select the relevant Start and End date and choose whether you want to Download

The report will download immediately or will be sent via Email.

 Scheduled Report

  • Use this option if you want to receive an updated report at regular intervals

  • Select the time period that you want data captured: Previous Day, Week or Month

Scheduled reports are sent to your Email address the day after the selected period.

Billing

How do I pay for a Campaign?

When you have finished creating your Campaign, you will be taken to the Checkout page. From here you can choose to pay for the Campaign, or add more Campaigns. The Platform supports payment by credit card through our secure payment provider, and most major credit card providers are accepted.

When will I be charged?

When you checkout, you will be charged for all of the booked impressions for all of the campaigns.

What happens if my Campaigns underdeliver impressions?

If your Campaign delivers an impression amount lower than what you budgeted for, the platform will automatically refund the amount that was not delivered to your credit card after the Campaign ends.

In the event of underdelivery of impressions, the value of non-delivered impressions will be calculated and refunded. Please note that the validity period of the credit card used to purchase the Campaigns should cover the whole delivery period for all Campaigns that were part of the booking, as refunds can only be issued for the same card used for paying for the campaigns.

Please refer to the Terms and Conditions for details about Rogers Sports & Media’s refund policy.

How can I update my payment information?

You can update your payment information in the checkout page.

How can I update the currency assigned to my account?

You unfortunately cannot edit the currency assigned to your account. For more information please contact RSM Ad Manager Support. A contact form is available through the Support button in the dropdown menu in the top right corner.

What do the different Payment statuses mean?

Payment statuses are listed in the orders section. They include the following statuses: 

  • Settled: Payment is confirmed and the budget has been captured from the credit card

  • Sent for refund: Refers to when a refund is issued due to undelivered impressions in the campaign. It usually takes 2-5 business days to complete the refund

  • Completed: All campaigns booked are completed. Any potential under-delivered impressions have been calculated, and a potential refund is issued

  • Invalid credit card: There is an issue with your credit card. For more information please contact RSM Ad Manager support. A contact form is available through the Support button in the dropdown menu in the top right corner

My Account

How do I update my account information?

You can update your account information by clicking on the user icon in the top right corner, then clicking profile and then edit. 

You will be asked to enter your billing information when buying your first campaign. This information can then be edited anytime in the profile under the billing tab.

How do I reset my password?

You can reset your password by logging out and completing this from the login page, or you can edit your password in the profile when you are logged in.

How do I change my email?

In order to change the email address associated with your account, you need to contact RSM Ad Manager support. A contact form is available through the Support button in the dropdown menu in the top right corner.

Best Practices Hub

How do I get my ad in front of the right people?

Select our Network Placement to:

  • Run your ad across our network of premium owned and partner websites

  • Narrow who will see your ad with audience, age and gender targeting

Select a Channel Placement to:

  • Run your ad across a selection of our premium owned and partner sites

  • Our Channels feature contextually relevant content and audiences

  • For example, our Women’s Channel includes websites featuring content that primarily engages a female audience 

Use Location Targeting to ensure your ad appears in specific towns, cities or provinces/territories relevant to your business.

What makes an effective display ad?

Sizes: for Display Ad campaigns, include multiple sizes – specifically a 300x250 and 300x50. The more sizes you provide the more websites and devices your ad may appear on.

Your Logo: Make sure your creative always includes your logo, featured prominently, for immediate recognition.

Headlines: Keep headlines short and to the point. Reinforce the name of your business or make a bold statement!

Message: Feature a couple of short, snappy sentences that clearly communicates what you are promoting. This could be a special offer or a unique selling feature of your product or service.

Image: Include a good quality image that captures attention and compliments your offering or messaging.

Call-To-Action Button: Feature a CTA that best aligns with the action you want people to take. For Example: Shop Now, Learn More or Book Now.

How do I moderate my campaign once it is live?

Once your campaign is live, you can see how it is performing and make changes in real time:

  1. Track Performance: Visit your dashboard to track your impressions, spend, and CTR

  2. Adjust Targeting: Add or remove location targeting to adjust where your ads will appear

  3. Update Your Creative: Pause or add creative if your messaging or offer has changed

Can I change the end date of my campaign?

Yes, you can!

While you can adjust the end date of your campaign, you won’t be able to add or reduce budget. It is recommended that you set your campaign to be run for 4 weeks. 

  • If your campaign is under 4 weeks, extending it will increase your ability to reach people in your selected location

  • If your campaign is already 4 weeks or more, consider creating a 2nd campaign rather than extending it

Be sure to give your campaign sufficient time and budget to run!

What are my different targeting options?
  1. Location Targeting: Can be used to target your ad to ensure it appears and drives impact in specific towns, cities or provinces/territories that are relevant to your business. If you want to run your ad nationally, do not select location targeting. This is available on all placement options and will not affect CPM (price per one thousand impressions).

  2. Lifestyle/Interest Targeting: Can be used to target audiences with specific interests or lifestyle types. This is only available for our Complete Network placement and will increase your campaign’s CPM if used. If using lifestyle/interest targeting, it is recommended to not use age or gender targeting and vice versa.

  3. Age Targeting: Can be used to target audiences within specific age groups.  This is only available for our Complete Network placement and will increase your campaign’s CPM if used.

  4. Gender Targeting: Can be used to target audiences within specific genders. This is only available for our Complete Network placement and your campaign’s CPM will not be effected if used.

Display Ad Buying | FAQs

Where will my display ads appear?

Deliver impactful brand messaging with display adverting that runs across the Rogers Sports & Media network of owned and partner sites.

Every month, 26 million unique visitors engage with our content! This scale enables advertisers to drive awareness and impact with both local and national audiences.

Depending on the placement you choose, your ads may appear on web and mobile sites such as Sportsnet, NHL, Citytv, Cityline, Citynews, Breakfast Television, KiSS 92.5, CHFI 98.1, Citynews radio sites, Rock radio sites, SONIC radio sites, JACK radio sites, People Magazine, AllRecipes, Entertainment Weekly, GQ, Vanity Fair, bon appetit and many more.

Our premium content ensures a brand-safe environment for your advertising.

How much should I spend on my display campaign?

Ultimately, your budget depends on how many people you want to reach. Here are some guidelines:

  • For campaigns geo-targeted to 1 - 3 cities: consider a budget starting at $750 and a 4-week campaign

  • For campaigns geo-targeted to 4+ cities: consider a budget starting at $1,500 and a 4-week campaign

Your budget and CPM (cost per 1000 impressions) determines the number of impressions your ads receive. Some important things to know:

For example, if your budget is $1,000 and the ad CPM is $16, your ads will appear approximately 62,500 times over the course of your campaign

  • This does not mean that your ad will reach 62,500 people -- some people may see your ad more than once. Repeated exposure will help to drive campaign results

  • If you want to capture more ad impressions and reach more people think about increasing your budget (you may also need to increase the length of your campaign)

How do I get my display ads in front of the right people?

Select our Network Placement to:

  • Run your ad across our full network of premium owned and partner sites

  • Use Lifestyle/Interest Targeting to reach people with specific interests or lifestyle types

  • Use Location Targeting to ensure your ad appears in specific towns, cities or provinces/territories relevant to your business

Select a Channel Placement to:

  • Run your ad across a selection of our premium owned and partner sites

  • Our Channels feature contextually relevant content and audiences. For example, our Women’s Channel includes websites featuring content that primarily engages a female audience 

  • Use Location Targeting to ensure your ad appears in specific towns, cities or provinces/territories relevant to your business

What ad creative do I need for a display campaign?

When setting up your campaign our “Build Your Creative” option enables you to easily create a set of display ads. Simply upload your logo, an image and specify your message.

Already have display ads? Upload them into your campaign and we’ll ensure they meet our specifications.

Either way, we recommend including a variety of ad sizes to maximize the reach of your campaign.

How do I build a set of display ads in RSM Ad Manager?

Don’t have a Display Ad creative? Don’t worry! Choose the “Build Your Creative” option to quickly and easily build a set of banner ads.

You’ll be guided through the following steps:

  1. Upload your logo

  2. Upload a main image. This image should capture attention and support your offer or messaging

  3. Specify the Destination URL. This is the page on your website you want to people to land on when they click on your ad

  4. Select a Call To Action. Appearing as a button on your ad, select a CTA that best aligns with the action you want people to take

  5. Enter a Headline. Reinforce the name of your business or make a bold statement!

  6. Enter a Message. This is where you can provide details on your product, service or offer. Keep it short, snappy and quick to read!

 You can preview and edit your ad in the right panel as you build it. Scroll down to see all sizes. If you don’t want to include a certain creative size in your campaign, toggle the “Use” status to “off”.

What makes an effective display ad?

Sizes: for Display Ad campaigns, include multiple sizes – specifically a 300x250 and 300x50. The more sizes you provide the more websites and devices your ad may appear on.

Your Logo: Make sure your creative always includes your logo, featured prominently, for immediate recognition.

Headlines: Keep headlines short and to the point. Reinforce the name of your business or make a bold statement!

Message: Feature a couple of short, snappy sentences that clearly communicates what you are promoting. This could be a special offer or a unique selling feature of your product or service.

Image: Include a good quality image that captures attention and compliments your offering or messaging.

Call-To-Action Button: Feature a CTA that best aligns with the action you want people to take. For Example: Shop Now, Learn More or Book Now.

What updates can I make to my display ads once my campaign is live?

You can manage your ad creative by logging into your Campaign and clicking on the “Creatives” tab. Once your campaign is live you can:

  • Add new ad creative / sizes

  • Pause any ads that are running

  • Resume any paused ads

If you used our “Build Your Creative” option, you will not be able to edit ads once they are live. Simply add new ads and pause the original ones.

When pausing ads, remember that you have to have at least one ad live for your campaign to run.

Radio Ad Buying | FAQs

Where will my radio ad run?

Rogers Sports & Media has 50+ local radio stations across the country! You can find a complete list of our radio stations here.

Every month, we reach 59% of Canadians with some of the most listened to sports, news and music programming in Canada.

Your radio ad will run on the stations you select when building your radio campaign – drive top-of-mind awareness for your business in the markets that matter to you most. For example, if you want to run a radio campaign in Calgary, you will select from our JACK 96.9, Sportsnet 960, CityNews 660 and STAR 95 stations.

What radio ad creative do I need?

On RSM Ad Manager, you can choose to run a :15 or :30 radio ad.

While building your campaign we will confirm if your budget qualifies you to have your radio ad produced by us for no additional cost. If your budget does not meet this minimum, we will provide details on how to have your ad produced for a moderate fee.

You can also use an existing 15-second or 30-second radio ad. After booking your campaign, you can upload your radio ad for us to review and approve.

How much should I spend on my radio ad campaign?

For your radio campaign to be effective, we require you to book a minimum of 20 radio spots per week per radio station.

For campaigns under 3 weeks, we recommend booking 30-50 radio spots per week per station.

Streaming TV & Video Ad Buying | FAQs

Where will my video ads appear?

Reach audiences engaged in the best streaming and video content in Canada when you run a video campaign with Rogers Sports & Media.

Every month, we reach 8 million Canadians with our streaming TV & video content. This scale enables advertisers to drive awareness and impact with both local and national audiences.

Depending on the placement you choose, your video ads may appear on:

  • Premium streaming TV content from Sportsnet, Citytv, Cityline, Citynews, Breakfast Television and more

  • Action-packed NHL, MLB and NBA live sports programming on SportsnetNOW

  • Popular entertainment content from TUBI. One of the fastest growing ad-supported streaming services

Advertisers can enjoy video ad completion rates of 97% and our premium content ensures a brand-safe environment for your advertising.

What ad creative do I need for a video campaign?

You need a video ad that is 30-seconds or less. Simply upload your ad into your campaign and we’ll ensure it meets our specifications.

The length of your video ad needs to match the ad product you select – either 10-30 seconds OR Under 10 seconds.

How much should I spend on my video campaign?

Ultimately, your budget depends on how many people you want to reach. Here are some guidelines:

  • For campaigns geo-targeted to 1 - 3 cities: consider a budget starting at $750 and a 4-week campaign

  • For campaigns geo-targeted to 4+ cities: consider a budget starting at $1,500 and a 4-week campaign

Your budget and CPM (cost per 1000 impressions) determines the number of impressions your[PA1]  ads receive. Some important things to know:

For example, if your budget is $1,000 and the ad CPM is $16, your ads will appear approximately 62,500 times over the course of your campaign

  • This does not mean that your ad will reach 62,500 people -- some people may see your ad more than once. Repeated exposure will help to drive campaign results

  • If you want to capture more ad impressions and reach more people think about increasing your budget (you may also need to increase the length of your campaign)

How do I get my video ads in front of the right people?

Select our Network Placement to:

  • Run your ad across our full network of premium owned and partner sites

  • Use Lifestyle/Interest Targeting to reach people with specific interests or lifestyle types

  • Use Location Targeting to ensure your ad appears in specific towns, cities or provinces/territories relevant to your business

Select a Channel Placement to:

  • Run your ad across a selection of our premium owned and partner sites

  • Our Channels feature contextually relevant content and audiences. For example, our Women’s Channel includes websites featuring content that primarily engages a female audience 

  • Use Location Targeting to ensure your ad appears in specific towns, cities or provinces/territories relevant to your business

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